Looking back this week

Looking back 10 years to 2012: The 2012-13 Rotary Club of Berwick board of directors. Back from left Julie Allgood, Peter Mangan, Bruce Shaw, Laury Gordyn, Geoff Ranking and, front, Greg Cornelius, president Mick Morland, Gus Dominguez and Garry Cooper. Absent Daniel Kraan.

30 years to 1992

Pakenham lost one of its most respected old citizens when Ken Purton of ‘Mount Pleasant’ died peacefully in Pakenham Hospital after a short illness, aged 87. He was well known in the area for his involvement in the Pakenham Agricultural Society and, despite his age, was still dairyfarming until last year. During his 68 years at Mount Pleasant, Ken became a noted Ayrshire breeder and a strong advocate for the dairy industry. He was secretary of the Victorian Dairy Farmers Federation in Pakenham for 30 years. He was a volunteer for the CFA for 46 years, serving the Toomuc brigade as captain in 1944. He was among a group who hand built the fire station, using bricks they made from sand off a bank of Toomuc Creek.

20 years to 2002

Berwick’s Margaret Sansom has been awarded the Margarette Golding Award by Inner Wheel Australia. Margarette Golding was the founding president of Inner Wheel and the award is given in her name for outstanding service to the worldwide organization. National representative Anne McGill, who presented the award at the Australian changeover, said Margaret Samson was a charter member and member for 22 years of the Inner Wheel Club of Narre Warren. “Margaret rose through the ranks to become secretary, then club president, followed by district secretary, district chairman, council member and extension chairman of A61 District,” she said. “This was followed by president of Inner Wheel Australia, national representative and then International Inner Wheel board member.”

10 years to 2012

It was a night of nights for a prominent Berwick couple and two fellow Rotarians at Berwick’s changeover night. Mick Morland and his wife Kay were both recognised for their work with the Rotary Club of Berwick. Mick took over the presidency from Garry Cooper, a title he had proudly held previously. But it was wife Kay who got a surprise when she was awarded a Paul Harris Fellowship for her continuous contribution to the community. She wasn’t the only one awarded on the night. Sjaak Kusters and Laury Gordyn were presented with sapphire pins to go with their Paul Harris Fellowships. The other big winner on the night was Berwick Secondary College principal Kerri Bolch, who received a $15,000 cheque from the club to put towards improvement work at the school.