College of champions

KOOWEERUP Secondary College edged out Maribyrnong in the final over to become state champions.
Marybyrnong won the toss and elected to bat with rain a certainty.
The conditions worked to the bowling teams favour with the ball swinging and making runs hard to score. Josh Browne (2 wickets) and Adam McMaster bowled extremely tightly and applied pressure on a batting team that was used to scoring at will.
Adam White ran to the boundary line in pursuit and threw the stumps down for a dramatic run out. Solid bowling continued with high pressure fielding and wickets tumbled to see Maribyrnong all out for 94.
A solid bowling effort from Maribyrnong early saw the pressure on and Kooweerup 0/14 after 7 overs when the rain fell and fell hard.
A break of 90 minutes saw a revised total of 81 for a win off 30 overs in total. Dylan Sutton finally departed for 33 and the runs started to dry up the closer the win came.
It finally came in the last over with Brad Lenders and Caleb still at the crease and the winning runs came from overthrows after a quick single almost translated into a runout.