Side locked in for crunch clash

Cranbourne star Dillan Bass. Picture: ROB CAREW

By Nick Creely

The South East Football Netball League have tonight named their final interleague side, with many of the stars of the competition locked in for the massive clash with AFL Yarra Ranges on Saturday.

There is an exciting mix of young and experienced talent in this year’s star studded line-up, with South East coach Rhys Nisbet announcing his final 22 for the game at the jumper presentation on Thursday night.

“I’d like to thank the league for the opportunity to coach the interleague side – it’s an extremely great honour, the minute I started having conversations about it I just jumped at it. It’s something I’m pretty passionate about, so hopefully we get the result on the weekend,” Nisbet said.

“The group we’ve got, they’re really keen and they’ve put their hand up – it’s a great honour to follow on from Jock Holland, he’s coached for the last six years, and been involved with interleague for a long time, hopefully we can do half as good a job.”

Competition champions Michael Collins and Marc Holt will co-captain the side as they look to add to their already glittering interleague records, with Collins also receiving a special plaque for his incredible service to the competition over many years of representative football.

Officer jet Matthew Clarke will vice-captain the side after starting 2018 in blistering touch.

The seniors will kick off at 10.50am as the curtain raiser to the VFL clash between Richmond and Sandringham.

South East FNL final team:

B: Dillan Bass (Cranbourne), Jesse Davies (Narre Warren), Jake Bowd (Beaconsfield)

HB: Anthony Vella (Cranbourne), Michael Riseley (Berwick), Ash Smith (Berwick)

C: Daniel Johnston (Beaconsfield), Madi Andrews (Berwick), Mitch Cox (Narre Warren)

HF: Luke Bee-Hugo (Cranbourne), Trent Shinners (Narre Warren), Tim Gunn (Berwick)

F: Ryan Jones (Cranbourne), Marc Holt (Cranbourne), Trent Cody (Narre Warren)

FOLL: Gach Nyuon (Doveton), Michael Collins (Narre Warren), Brad Scalzo (Narre Warren)

INT: Luke Sheppard (Berwick), Matthew Clarke (Officer), Lucas Jellyman-Turner (Berwick), Mitch Cotter (Doveton)

Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.