Locals dominate Team of the Year

Beaconsfield star Danielle Cameron. 242705 Picture: ROB CAREW

By Nick Creely

Spots were tough to obtain as the AFL Outer East named its A Grade netball teams of the year, with plenty of local stars rewarded for their strong contribution on the court this season.

Cranbourne star Tara Cecil, coming off a brilliant season for the Eagles, leads the A Grade Premier team, named as Goal Keeper and skipper. Cecil joins fellow Cranbourne stars Ashleigh Gill (Centre) and Elizabeth Murphy (Goal Shooter) in the side, with Murphy leading the competition for goals with a whopping 364.

Beaconsfield’s Danielle Cameron, Berwick’s Emily La Roche and Olivia Macente, as well as Narre Warren star Brittany Mashado and Doveton’s Shae Brown were other locals to make the cut, while in Division 1, ROC’s remarkable season on court was rewarded with two selections in Samantha Neil and Keeley Burgmann, while super coach Simon Shannassy was named as the coach of the Division 1 team.

Here are the Premier Division and Division 1 sides:

Premier Division Team of the Year

Goal Keeper: Tara Cecil (Cranbourne)

Wing Defence: Charlotte Sparkes (Wandin)

Goal Defence: Charlotte Davies (Upwey Tecoma)

Centre: Ashleigh Gill (Cranbourne)

Goal Attack: Shae Brown (Doveton)

Wing Attack: Brittany Mashado (Narre Warren)

Goal Shooter: Elizabeth Murphy (Cranbourne)

Substitutes: Danielle Cameron (Beaconsfield), Emily La Roche (Berwick), Krista Tomlinson (Olinda Ferny Creek), Olivia Macente (Berwick), Mia Sudomirski (Woori Yallock)

Coach: Sarah Hogan (Woori Yallock)

Assist Coach: Tim Smith (Olinda Ferny Creek)

Captain: Tara Cecil


Division 1 Team of the Year

Goal Keeper: Erin Baker (Seville)

Wing Defence: Paige Ladner (Gembrook Cockatoo)

Goal Defence: Lauren Castricum (Gembrook Cockatoo)

Centre: Leigh Taylor (Emerald)

Goal Attack: Kaylah Loulanting (Emerald)

Wing Attack: Samantha Neil (ROC)

Goal Shooter: Olivia Ray (Seville)

Substitutes: Jessica Hare (Berwick Springs), Cleo Minney (Seville), Paige Whitworth (Monbulk), Georgia Bingley (Mt Evelyn), Keeley Burgmann (ROC)

Coach: Simon O’Shannassy (ROC)

Assist Coach: Christine Puopolo (Monbulk)

Captain: Leigh Taylor (Emerald)