Stars of WGFNC holding court

Bianca Douglas has once again been a star defender for Cora Lynn this year. 251399 Pictures: STEWART CHAMBERS

By David Nagel

It’s very evident that the West Gippsland Football Netball Competition (WGFNC) is bristling with high-end talent after the announcement of a 33-strong squad for the 2021 Netball Team of the Year (TOTY).

Players from every team in the elite A Grade competition have been selected, with proven Victorian Netball League (VNL) talent in the mix – alongside some exciting born and bred local talent that have had magnificent seasons this year.

Of the 33 players selected only 13 have made the team before, leaving 20 hopeful of engraving their names on the growing history of the competition for the first time.

Not surprisingly, given their top ranking this year, Dalyston leads the way with six nominations including Alana, Grace and Hannah McRae, with Britt, Gemma and coach Jarney Thomas rounding out a smorgasbord of superstars.

Korumburra-Bena has also had a giant season to report with Kelsey Buxton, Gemma Dixon and goaler Kim Hillberg trying to add to their previous selections in the team.

Their team mates, midcourter Tarli Hillberg and defender Annelise Van Rooye are looking for first-time selections since the WGFNC was formed in 2017.

Premiership contenders Bunyip and Tooradin-Dalmore are also well represented, with four players having their names up in lights this year.

For Bunyip, Sam Hodge, Jasmin Mackie and Chloe Papley are looking for debut selections, while star defender Ebony Mumford is hoping to make it for a third time after previous gongs in 2017 and ’19.

Tooradin-Dalmore, still the reigning champions after no premierships were awarded in 2020 and ’21, are chock full of hopefuls with classy-quad Ebony Dolan, Sara Duncan and Alex and Jess Maher all legitimate stars of the competition.

Jess Maher is the only player of that quartet still searching for her first WGFNC Team of the Year Award.

Selectors will have a tough task in choosing this side with the depth of talent filtering through to teams that finished in the second half of the ladder.

At Cora Lynn, Karla Brook has been a consistent performer through the midcourt, while Bianca Douglas has been a steady rock and star defender for the Cobras for many years.

Ashley Hyde and Nat Sloan have been worked overtime in defence for Garfield at times this year, while Rebecca Cox and Hollie Keysers have been standout performers for Nar Nar Goon.

Hayley Roberts has had an outstanding season for Phillip Island, with Warragul Industrials trio – Lara Commadeur, Sienna Green and Ella Spencer – taking all before them at Western Park.

The 2021 WGFNC Team of the Year is scheduled to be announced this weekend.



Sam Hodge Defender

Jasmin Mackie Goaler

Ebony Mumford Defender

Chloe Papley Mid


Karla Brook Mid

Bianca Douglas Defender


Alana McRae Defender

Grace McRae Mid

Hannah McRae Mid

Brittany Thomas Goaler

Gemma Thomas Defender

Jarney Thomas Goaler


Ashley Hyde Defender

Natalie Sloan Defender


Renee Pilkington Defender

Lanni Pryor Mid


Renae Joiner Mid


Kelsey Buxton Mid

Gemma Dixon Defender

Kim Hillberg Goaler

Tarli Hillberg Mid

Annelise Van Rooye Defender


Rebecca Cox Mid

Hollie Keysers Goaler


Christie Edwards Goaler

Hayley Roberts Mid


Ebony Dolan Def-Mid

Sara Duncan Mid

Alex Maher Goaler

Jess Maher Defender


Lara Commadeur Goaler

Sienna Green Mid

Ella Spencer Defender