Cup fever hits Pakenham

A huge crowd will descend on the Pakenham Racing Club on Saturday for the first time since the 2019 Pakenham Cup won by Etah James and jockey Fred Kersley. 202176 Pictures: ROB CAREW

By David Nagel

A huge crowd will be buzzing as some of the best credentialed stayers in the land battle it out for the Listed $300,000 Sportsbet Pakenham Cup (2500m) on Saturday.

The Michael Moroney-trained Sound, fresh off a win in the Group-2 Zipping Classic (2400m) at Caulfield on Saturday – headlines a stellar cast of stayers set to lock horns on the Pakenham Racing Club’s (PRC) magnificent turf track at Tynong.

Runner-up in the Zipping – Dr Drill – has also been nominated for the Cup, set to be run in front of a huge crowd, on the first weekend of summer, after Covid restrictions stopped patrons from attending last year.

This year’s cup will be the eighth rendition of the race at the new track since the Cameron Templeton-trained Captain Fancypantz won the last cup at the club’s former Racecourse Road facility in 2014.

PRC Chief Executive Officer, Blair Odgers, said the club was delighted that a recent easing of restrictions would allow the club to share this year’s cup with an excited local community.

“We are excited to be able to welcome patrons back trackside,” Odgers said.

“The timing is fortune that, just prior or our premier Metropolitan race day – the Sportsbet Pakenham Cup – restrictions have eased to allow us to welcome a large event crowd back to Sportsbet Pakenham for the first time in nearly two years.”

Odgers said that interest had been strong for this year’s cup, despite the event sure to have a different look and feel to previous years.

“With the short lead time, we have had to make some alterations to what the traditional Sportsbet Pakenham Cup event has been,” Odgers said.

“Some of our hospitality offerings have been simplified and streamlined, but the response has been really positive and some of our more popular precincts, such as the Summer Lawn Party, have had strong tickets sales since launch.

“We are planning the event inside the 5000-patron Covid-safe plan.”

The PRC CEO was delighted with the ongoing support of sponsors – particularly the naming rights sponsor this year. The PRC is also excited to run the first ever race on the now completed 1200-metre chute.

“Our premier partner, Sportsbet, will once again support us through the 2021 event and we look forward to hosting them and their guests on course,” Odgers said.

“I’m sure they will be offering the best prices available on the Sportsbet Pakenham Cup, and we are really excited to have the fifth race on the program jumping from the newly extended 1200m chute.

“The Sportsbet Pakenham Cup is a pre-purchased only ticketed event, and we encourage everyone to make their travel plans early to avoid any delay in getting trackside.”

Details on how to get to and from the track can be found at



2020 Attorney Matthew Smith Nash Rawiller

2019 Etah James Fred Kersley Matt Cumani

2018 Our Big Mike Jye McNeil Craig Phelan

2017 Like a Carousel Linda Meech Ken & Kasey Keys

2016 Pilote D’essai Reagan Bayliss David Hayes &Tom Dabernig

2015 Our Voodoo Prince Damien Oliver Darren Weir

2015 Tooleybuc Kid Brad Rawiller Darren Weir

2014 Captain Fancypantz Damian Lane Cameron Templeton

2013 Banca Mo Ben Knobel David & Scott Brunton

2012 Dance With Her Jake Noonan David Brideoake & David Feek

2011 Vivid Vixen (NZ) Glen Boss Mick Price

2010 Blaze Adrift Jason Maskiell Kelvin Southey

2009 Sermon David Chipman Darryl Horner (Snr)

2008 Sand Sweeper (NZ) Mark Flaherty John Wheeler

2007 Mr Toff (NZ) Blake Shinn David Bourne

2006 Wild Classic Noel Callow Patrick McKenna

2005 Masai (NZ) Greg Childs Graham Richardson

2004 Youthful Peter Mertens Tony Noonan

2003 Mr Casanova Nash Rawiller Colin Alderson

2002 Lord Kingston P. Mertens Dan O’Sullivan

2001 Lord of Illusion V. Hall Frank Ritchie

2000 Ultra Smug Damien Oliver Grant Dalziel

1999 Sunny Lane Danny Brereton Charlie Goggin

1998 Atomic Comment Danny Nikolic Peter Hayes

1997 Go Raami Ivan Culliver Robbie Griffiths

1996 Seductive Belle Damien Oliver L. M. Treloar

1995 Sure Cut (NZ) Rod Griffiths D.A. Hayes

1994 Carranqui Peter Hutchinson A.E.Elkington

1993 Zaparri Simon Marshall Steve McKinnon

1992 Silver Dupion Alf Mathews David Hall

1991 Gypsy Invader (NZ) A.G. Clarke I. B. Cavanagh

1990 Karawin (NZ) K. Forrester John Leek Jnr.

1989 Fendalton G. Murphy John Leek Jnr.

1988 Parslip Rod Griffiths R.F.Crawford

1987 Lake Worth (NZ) D. Gauci B.D. Burke

1986 The Vagrant N. Wilson R.J. McGuinness

1985 Amarla D. Short E. F. Ewart

1984 Bright Judge G. Hall S.C. Fox

1983 Kaza Calm B. Andrews Mrs J. Button

1982 Telopia W. Treloar E.K. Bennett

1981 Gallant Spectre P. Trotter J. Rattle

1980 Coroner I. Virtue K. Scanlon

1979 Coroner I. Virtue K. Scanlon