Tessari to Chair Gippsland League

The Gippsland League has formally elected the Board of Management that will take on the responsibility of governing the organisation for 2022 and beyond.

At the Annual General Meeting held on 6 December the member clubs ratified the earlier results from a Special General Meeting held in September where eight candidates were voted into a sub-committee that would assume the duties of the Board of Management after the expiration of the AFL Gippsland service agreement.

Former Wonthaggi Power President and Bass Coast Mayor Brett Tessari was elected unanimously to assume to role of Chair of the Gippsland League.

Tessari will be joined by former Traralgon President Andrew Livingstone who was also unanimously voted into the Vice Chair position.

Six general members were elected including Jodie Galea, Shane Paynter, Dean Benson, Stuart Dalton, Ian Dougherty and Duane Rek.

“It’s an exciting time for the League and the new board members to now be formally elected and begin the task of governing the Gippsland League” said Tessari.

“The League is in a strong off field position and the clubs are keen to engage and work with the new board to take the League to the next level”

The newly elected Board has been working behind the scenes to get up to date with operations of the League since their elections at the Special General Meeting.

The group has met multiple times and been working with AFL Gippsland to transition over to an independent administration structure that will be formed for 2022.

AFL Gippsland transitioned the governance from 1 November and the Board has

been operating since that date in all decision making for the League and will now formally be in charge of the governance and administration for the Gippsland League moving forward.