Drouin duo claim West Gippsland championship

Practice makes perfect…Sharon Rippon, pictured, teamed up with Leanne Pollard to win the West Gippsland Foursomes Championship at Mirboo North. 368085 Picture: STEWART CHAMBERS


First up this week; congratulations to Drouin golfers Leanne Pollard and Sharon Rippon who won the West Gippsland Foursomes Championship held at Mirboo North on Friday with a score of 86 off the stick.

Well done ladies!

Golfers at Drouin needed to have their thinking caps on during Saturday’s round of competition with a 4BBB Split Six up for grabs.

The competition consists of six holes of normal 4BBB; six holes of a stableford aggregate; and six holes of a stableford multiplier.

The winning pair was Anthony and David Lillis who combined to score 73 points.

Runners up for the day were Ricky and Ciara Davies with 69 points, with Kevin Johnson and Darryl Bryce finishing third with 67 points.

Shaun Kleeven won the super six with an incredible 22 points.

Down the lines went to Glenn Bayne and David Johnson 66, Glenn Robinson and Craig Armstrong 66, Rob Ballingall and Warren Cook 65, Andrew Heagney and Marcus Cameron 64, Scott Green and Mick Fusinato 64 and Bernie Coyle and Jock Granger 63.

Target Hole winners were Glenn Flowers and Pete Daniel on the 9th hole.

Nearest the pins went to Ben Jeffrey (Commercial Hotel Warragul), 8th Mitch Dyer (Sharkey’s Barbershop), 10th Ciara Davies (Siam Pesto Restaurant) and Jake Spruhan (Pro Pin).


The mid-week competition was Stableford with a field of 79 players taking part.

There were some fantastic scores for the day but the stand out was Shane Dwyer who scored lower than his age.

Shane had 70 shots for the day, which included three birdies and one bogey to go along with his 14 pars.

That score was good enough to win A Grade with 42 points.

Craig Armstrong was the runner up with 39 points.

B Grade also had some impressive scoring; Reg Dixon was the winner with 41 points, while Allan Logan finished runner up with 40 points on a countback.

But it was C Grade that had the highest point score for the day.

Mick Fusinato had an amazing 46 points to win with Peter Newton coming runner up with 41 points.

The Super Six winner was Colin Hunt with 16 points.

Down the lines went to Eddy Van Der Plight 40, George Shand 39, Dave Axford 39, John Gidley 39, Mike Santo 38, Laurie Pyle 38, Bill McDonald 38, Peter Britchford 38, Marcus Cameron 38 and Noel Brereton 37.

Nearest the pins went to 5th Eddy Van Der Plight, 8th Robert Koppe, 10th Mike Duddy and 14th Mick Lithgow.


The winner for Sunday’s Medley Stableford was Josh Maric with 34 points.

Upcoming competitions are Stableford for midweek, Saturday and Sunday.


The Drouin Ladies played their final Stroke event for the season which was also the qualifying round for Summer Match-Play and the Star Medal play-off.

With the course in amazing condition, there were some excellent scores on the day.

Division 1: Winner was Sharon Rippon (16) with 68 nett on a countback.

Runner up was Marg Purcell (19) also with 68 nett on a countback.

Division 2: Winner was Dagma Forbes (36) with a fabulous 66 nett.

Runner up was Valerie Crow (31) with 69 nett.

Down the line balls went to: Shirley Roberts 68, Glenda Warren 70, Mary Tymensen 70 and Judy Dixon 70.

Scratch winner was Shirley Roberts with a fantastic 81 off the stick.

Shirley was in fine form on the front nine with a 38 (Two over par), winning the nine-hole competition.

Nearest the pins went to: 5th Shirley Roberts, 8th Anne Neilson, 8th 2nd Shot Dagma Forbes, 10th Gillian Chandler and 14th Sharon Rippon.

Saturday 18 November; The winner of the 6/6/6 format was Vanessa Campbell (23) and Kay Grieve (41) with 65 points.

Today, our Downtowner Cup commences with the ladies playing Stableford for the next few weeks.

Upcoming events include:

Friday 8 December; Charity Day.

Entry forms available at the club.

Summer Match-Play draw has been finalised and round one needs to be played by December 10.

Christmas Party: Tuesday 12 December. Register your interest at the club.

-Glenn Robinson and Sharon Rippon-