Stewart ‘ace’ the highlight of moving day at Drouin

Ross Stewart, Bob Naismith, Mark Stewart and Dave Cavanagh at Drouin Golf Club. Mark Stewart had a hole-in-one on the 10th hole at Drouin on Saturday. 337171 Picture: STEWART CHAMBERS


It was ‘moving day’ at Drouin Golf and Country Club on Saturday as the second round of the Club Championships sorted out the starting order for the final round of play.

First of all, congratulations go to Mark Stewart who scored a hole-in-one on the 10th hole.

Mike Santo had a day out, shooting six birdies and an eagle to win A Grade with an impressive nett 68 of a scratch handicap.

Matt Long finished runner up with a nett 72 on a countback.

B Grade was won by Pete Smith who shot a nett 69, one shot clear of runner up Danny Gorman.

C Grade came down to a countback with Matthew Elliot the eventual winner with a nett 73 over Mark Stewart.

Jake Simpson had the best score for the day and claimed D Grade with a nett 67, while Neil Wyatt continued his good form from Wednesday finishing with nett 69.

In E Grade, Kane Latham led by four shots to win with a nett 69.

Runners up came down to a four-player countback with Peter Jolley claiming the prize.

The Super Six was won by Peter Browne with 37 points.

Down the lines went to Jim Defoe 71, Mitch Dyer 71, Bill Toogood 71, Dave Johnson 71, Shane Dehaan 72, Phil Mason 72, Ryan Hammond 72, Fred Roknic 73, Graeme Steel 73, Shane Dwyer 73, Matthew Dyer 73, Nick Rowe 73, Shaun Doak 73, Rob McCrae 73, Ross Tomlinson 73, Aiden Elliot 74, Phil Adams 74 and Rob Brew 74.

Target Hole Winner on the 9th was Mike Santo.

Nearest the pins went to 5th Dave Johnson (Commercial Hotel), 8th Kevin Johnson (Sharkey’s Barbershop), 10th Mark Stewart (Siam Pesto Restaurant) and 14th Jake Simpson (Pro Pin).


A field of over 100 players contested the mid-week Stableford competition.

Dave Cavanagh led A Grade scoring an impressive two-over par, which gave him 39 points for the day.

John Wolswinkel came in runners up with 37 points.

The top two players in B Grade both scored 39 points; Warren Cook won a tight count back from Cameron Snell.

C Grade saw Pat Ellerton win narrowly with 42 points from runner up Graham Kennedy who scored 41 points.

The highest score for the day came in D Grade, Neil Wyatt finished the day with 44 points, while Bill McDonald was the runner up with 41 points.

Rohan Berkhout claimed the super six prize with 16 points.

Down the lines went to Bruce Page 40, Jim Bethune 39, Graeme Steel 39, Trevor McGilton 38, Roger Crow 38, William Nutton 38, Duart Perrin 37, Gary Florence 37, Basil Bate 37, Graham Austin 37, Ian Hemphill 36, John Killmister 36, Vince Cappola 36 and Pete Smith 36.

Nearest the pins went to 5th Duart Perrin, 8th John Wolswinkel, 10th Eddy Van Der Plight and 14th Duart Perrin.

On Sunday, the weekly Medley competition was won by Corey Thomson with 35 points.


Drouin Ladies played a 4BBB event kindly sponsored by Gifts and Glamour Drouin, in conjunction with the Golf Victoria, Royal Women’s Hospital fundraising event.

The winners were Sharon Rippon (15) and Michelle Fairlie (28) with 45 points.

Runners up were Sue Hatfield (33) and Karen Adams (28) with 44 points on a countback.

In third place were Angela Greenall (54) and Kay Feaver (14) also on 44 points on a countback.

Down the line balls went to Judy Dixon and Helen Moon also on 44 points, Ann Roberts and Marg Murray 43 points.

Nearest the pins went to 5th Robyn Carville, 8th Sue Job, 8th 2nd Shot Marg Rowe, 10th no one and 14th Marg Rowe.

Saturday 9 February was a Stableford event for the ladies and the winner was Judy Dixon (17) with 34 points.

Runner up was Meagan Ford (25) also with 34 points.

This week is the annual Harcourts Drouin/Garfield Challenge, hosted by Drouin Golf and Country Club.

Next Tuesday, February 20, the 2024 Club Championships commence.

Drouin host its annual Silver Salver teams’ event on Friday February 23.

-Glenn Robinson and Sharon Rippon-